Untitled Document
Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis

James McFadden celebrates his Eureka Series win at Mt Gambier photo by Corey Gibson

James McFadden takes the Eureka Sprintcar Series win at the Mount
Author : Ian Vale

Borderline Speedway presented a good nights racing with all the new surroundings and new race surface that saw James McFadden greet the chequered flag first to beat home Jamie Veal and Mt Gambier local Glen Sutherland in a race that had a few drama’s in the first half.

With Mt Gambier’s Borderline Speedway looking a treat with many new buildings and works going on in preparation for the 2017-2018 SCCA Australian Open Sprintcar Title plus a new racing surface all was ready for a big night with over forty five sprintcars in the pits for round four of the Eureka Garages & Sheds Sprintcar Series that would produced good racing right throughout the night.

As the old saying goes the cream always comes to the top and with the qualifying time trials and heats races won and done you had two of the best in the business lining up on the front row of the Eureka Garages & Sheds A Main event that would see Jamie Veal qualify into P1 and James McFadden taking P2.

A strong field lined up in the main event to challenge Jamie and James, Corey McCullagh and Glen Sutherland took row two while Adian Hall and Rusty Hickman filled row three. These drivers were followed by Dennis Jones, Matt Egel, Jye Okeeffe, Brayden Parr, Tim Hutchins, Steven Lines, Jake Smith, Ryan Jones, Lachlan McHugh, Daniel Pestka and rounding out row eight was the current Eureka Garages & Sheds Series Champion Brett Milburn and Peter Doukas.

Underway for the first time and it was McFadden beating Veal into the first corner with Sutherland slotting into third place demoting McCullagh back to forth and Hickman also move up a spot to fifth before a red light was at the completion of lap one.

Parr got sideways after contact with another car just after the finish line in front of Hutchins who rolled after contact with Parr putting both drivers out.

Back to green and the race went no further than one more lap after a coming together of Jones and Egel who rolled, again both drivers were out.

With the race underway once more McFadden was in clean air moving away from the pack but Veal was in tow before they headed into some lapped traffic. Sutherland could not shake McCullagh but the real battle was between Hickman and Lines who had worked his way forward early on. One third distance and Hickman and Lines made contact that would see both drivers very sideways heading onto the infield but somehow they both survived losing a couple of spots each.

A couple of laps later and Milburn pulled to the infield before the caution lights came at half race distance for Smith who had stopped in turn three, McHugh also pulled infield with a broken front shocker under the caution.

Green once more and McFadden was running strong but Veal was keeping him in his sights, one mistake and Veal was close enough the pounce. McCullagh was racing hard with Sutherland getting his nose in front on a few occasions but could not seal the deal, that battle work go all the way to the flag. Now further back and Lines had recovered from the earlier contact with Hickman to work his way up to fifth place.

Hickman was working overtime to pass Hall, meanwhile the Leaders were back into traffic in the dying stages but Veal could not capitalize to make a challenge on McFadden.

Three laps to go and McCullagh made the pass on Sutherland taking third place but Sutherland was not pleased about that retaking third place back on the next lap, Lines had caught the duelling pair of McCullagh and Sutherland but could not find a way past. Meanwhile Hickman was still hounding Hall to finally take Hall on the last lap.

But when the chequered flag was waved it was James McFadden taking his second win in just over a week from Jamie Veal and Glen Sutherland taking third place ahead of Corey McCullagh, Steven Lines, Rusty Hickman in sixth place, rounding out the finishers in order were Aidan Hall, Jye Okeeffe, Dennis Jones, Peter Doukas, Daniel Pestka and Jake Smith.

Heat wins went Adain Hall, James McFadden, Glen Sutherland, Jamie Veal, Lachlan McHugh, Ryan Jones, Jake Smith and Brett Milburn.

The B Main was won by Jake Smith, from Ryan Jones, Lachlan McHugh, Daniel Pestka, Brett Milburn and Peter Doukas these drivers would all transfer to the Eureka Garages & Sheds A Main event.

Ricky Maiolo took out the C Main event and transferred to the B main taking with him Rory Button, Jake Tranter and Jordyn Charge.

The next round of Eureka Garages and Sheds Sprintcar Series will be on Saturday night the 2nd of December for round five at Redline Raceway Ballart. For more information go to the Redline Raceway web site. www.redlineraceway.org.au

Eureka Garages and Sheds Series nightly contingency awards:
HOOSIER TIRE AUSTRALIA: 11th Place in the A Main at Each round.
11th S27 Daniel Pestka.
D&F RACING PRODUCTS: Hard luck of the night – V22 Terry Rankin
STEELPIPES PTY LTD: 1st competitor not to transfer from B to A-Main –
S10 Steven Caruso.
INDY RACE PARTS: Top Points Scorer $100 voucher – V35 Jamie Veal.

End of Series awards:
Eureka Garages & Sheds major sponsor of the Series overall prize money Poole.
KTM Top Ten Motorbike award – Random draw at the Presentation Dinner.
Camden Neon Signs – sponsors of the Series Prize Poole.
Hoosier Tire Australia – sponsors of the Series Prize Poole.
Western Nissan - for drivers finishing between 11th and 20th place in the Series. Random draw at the Presentation Dinner $1500 to the winner.
Lumbar Transport - End of Series most heat wins –V35 Jamie Veal, (4 wins)
Western Nissan - most cars passed in the A-Main on the night,
V98 Peter Doukas, (8 cars)
(End of series award) cars passed overall –V40 Rusty Hickman (18 cars)
ELIMINATOR RACE WINGS – for the driver that transfers the most from the B Main to the A Main events the most. Overall, V68 Brett Milburn & V2 Domain Ramsay – (2 times each)
(In the event of a tie the driver with the most points in the Series wins)
PARR MOTORSPORTS –Drivers Driver award as voted on by the drivers in the Series. (End of Series award)

Eureka Garages and Sheds Series – KTM Top 10:
1st – Jamie Veal - 1450
2nd – Rusty Hickman - 1434
3rd – Glen Sutherland - 1290
4th – Tim Hutchins - 1283
5th – Brett Milburn - 1274
6th – Jacob Smith – 1160
7th – Jye Okeeffe - 1092
8th – Charles Hunter - 907
9th – Jordyn Charge - 880
10th – Peter Doukas - 844

Western Nissan
(End of Series random draw between 11th & 20th place)
11th – Scott Reilly - 819
12th – James McFadden - 778
13th – Brayden Parr - 772
14th – Dennis Jones - 727
15th – Jamie Heyen - 717
16th – Sam Wren - 713
17th – Corey McCullagh - 698
18th – Stephen Spark - 681
19th – Domain Ramsay - 676
20th – Shaun Dobson - 676

For a full list of all the 2017-2018 SRA of Vic Race dates go to www.sravic.com

The Sprintcar Racing Association of Victoria thank the following Eureka Garages and Sheds Sprintcar Series and season sponsors:
Eureka Garages & Sheds www.eurekagarages.com.au
KTM Australia www.ktm.com
Western Nissan www.westernnissan.com.au
Hoosier Tires Australia www.mdmotorsport.com.au
Camden Signage & Building Services www.camdenneon.com.au
Steelpipes Pty Ltd www.steelpipes.com.au
Lumbars Transport www.lumbars.com.au
Eliminator Race Wings www.crossmotorsport.com
Parr Motorsports www.parrmotorsport.com
Avalon Raceway www.avalonraceway.com.au
Corey Gibson Photography www.gibsonphotography.com.au
Sprintcarworld www.sprintcarworld.com.au
Maxam Printing www.maxamprinting.com.au

Eureka Series R4 top 3 Jamie Veal - James McFadden - Glen Sutherland photo courtesy of Corey Gibson Photography

Our Partners

Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis


    No Nominations
Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis

Latest winners

Saturday, April 21, 2018  -Avalon Raceway

Untitled 1