Untitled Document
Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis

SRA Indy Race Parts 360 Triple Crown Series R2 winner Matthew Reed in one of his familiar V92 Sprintcars

Matthew Reed Takes Round Two of SRA 360 Triple Crown Series
Author : Ian Vale

Heartland Raceway last night presented round two of the SRA 360 Indy Race Parts Triple Crown Series that was supported by Lumbar Transports that saw Matthew Reed in top form to take out the series round by a comfortable margin over his nearest rival Michael Tancredi.

While there was only a small field of drivers that attended the event that did not subtract from a great night of racing from the 360 sprintcars on a race track that allowed racing from the pole line to the fence right from the start of the night till the end.

Reed Showed he was in form right from the time trials where he took fast time in his group and showed the rest of the field he was going to hard to beat on the night although while trying different lines in his second heat he got loose and spun to a halt before restart to come back from the rear to take second place in that event.

The heat races went relatively smooth except for the final heat when Michael Cunningham spun only to be collected by Darren Clarke that would see them both out of that event. Both Daniel Scott and Mitchell Smith also retired with mechanical issues. The good news was all these drivers would have their sprintcars repaired and back for the feature event.

At the completion of the three shootouts for the final top eight A Main stating positions the two top qualifiers Brett Milburn and Chris Solomon were demoted back to the second round of the Main event when Matthew Reed and Michael Tancredi advanced to the front row.

With the field rolling around for the start of round two of the Indy Race Parts 360 Triple Crown Series presented by Lumbar Transport the pole position qualifier Matthew Reed made the choice to start the A Main from position two giving Michael Tancredi P1.

With the green flag in the air and waving the field was off and it was Tancredi to beat Reed into turn one but Reed put his car high on the track to get a good run of turn two to take the lead down the back straight.

The field quickly settled down with Reed in Front from Tancredi who was followed by Brett Milburn and Chris Solomon while an early place change went to Chris Campbell who passed Eddie Lumbar but that was short lived when Lumber took the place back shortly after. Rookie driver Marcus Green was having his first night in a sprintcar and was doing a good job to be running in seventh place ahead of Terry Kelly, Micheal Cunningham and Mitchell Smith that rounded out the top ten.

While the leading six drivers were all running running around the same lap times and holding station the battled on the track was between Kelly, Cunningham and Smith, these three drivers were swapping positions ahead of David Donegan, Daniel Scott and Darren Clarke before the caution lights came for Campbell who spun while trying a move on Lumbar for position five.

Back underway and Reed was in full control opening the gap back to Tancredi more and more on each lap who in turn was a little faster that the pursuing pair of Milburn and Solomon who running close together and trading their best lap times with each other.

With the race settled down once again and the leaders working their way thru the traffic Lumbar was trying hard to catch the duelling pair of Milburn and Solomon only to over do it and hit the turn three and Four wall that would damage his car and put him out of the race. As the caution lights came on for Lumbar Kelly also pulled to the infield with flat right rear tire.

Five to go at the race restart and with clean once more Reed continued where he left off by putting the best lap times in of the field to go on and take out another well deserved feature race win and to take the points leads in the Indy Race Parts 360 Triple Crown Series.

Home in second place was Michael Tancredi from Brett Millburn ahead of Chris Solomon while Michael Cunningham took fifth place from the two rookies of Mitchell Smith and Marcus Green followed by Chris Campbell, Daniel Scott, David Donegan and Darren Clarke.

Time Trial Group fastest times:
Group 1 VA29 Brett Milburn 13.951, Group 2 V92 Matthew Reed 13.857.
Heat winners on the night were VA29 Brett Milburn, V29 Michael Tancredi, S37 Terry Kelly and V83 Chris Solomon.

Upcoming Indy Race Parts 360 Triple Crown Series race date:
Round 3 13/4/2019 - Avalon Raceway Lara – The Diggers Cup.
(Presented by A Plus Powder Coating)

The SRA Indy Race Parts 360 Sprintcar Triple Crown Series Top 6:
1st - Matthew Reed – 824
2nd - Michael Tancredi – 819
3rd - Chris Solomon - 734
4th - Brett Milburn - 660
5th - Michael Cunningham - 548
6th – Daniel Scott - 531

The Sprintcar Racing Association of Victoria thank the following Eureka Garages and Sheds Sprintcar Series and season sponsors:
Eureka Garages & Sheds www.eurekagarages.com.au
Western Nissan www.westernnissan.com.au
Hoosier Tires Australia www.mdmotorsport.com.au
Camden Signage & Building Services www.camdenneon.com.au www.saddlebackmeadows.com
Steelpipes Pty Ltd www.steelpipes.com.au
Lumbars Transport www.lumbars.com.au
Eliminator Race Wings www.crossmotorsport.com
Mr Electric www.mrelectric.com.au
Parr Motorsports www.parrmotorsport.com
Avalon Raceway www.avalonraceway.com.au
Corey Gibson Photography www.gibsonphotography.com.au
Sprintcarworld www.sprintcarworld.com.au
Maxam Printing www.maxamprinting.com.au
Indy Race Parts (Australia) 0438 819 444

Our Partners

Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis


    No Nominations
Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis

Latest winners

Untitled 1