Untitled Document
Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis

V60 Driver Jordayn Charge with his SRA 360 Gold Cup hardwear - photo by Cartlidge Media

Jordyn Charge Wins the 360 Sprintcar Gold Cup Again
Author : Ian Vale

Young Victorian driver Jordyn Charge was the defending SRA 360 Sprintcar Gold Cup Champion and last night at Western Speedway Hamilton Jordyn drove to victory once again to retain the Gold Cup Champion status with a faultless drive.

While only a small field of driver attended the event the newly laid racing surface at Western Speedway Hamilton allowed for some very close and competitive racing right throughout the night.

With Time trials to get the sprintcar events underway it was Jordyn Charge starting his night on a high setting fast time. It was mixed fortunes for the two rookie drivers, Phil Micallef put in a good time for his first run in a sprintcar taking third fastest time but Brett Kuypers was not so lucky when he got loose in turn to tip his machine onto its side. With minor damage Brett was able to put in a lap time at the end of the session.

With the points added up after timer trials and the drivers two heat races each Jordyn Charge had done enough to take pole position for the Gold Cup with Kane Newcombe along side of him after a good performance thru the qualifying events.

The order for the running of the 2019-2020 SRA 360 Sprintcar Gold Cup was set, Charge and Newcombe on the front row followed by Eddie Lumbar, Shane Steenholdt, Phil Micallef, Mark Noonan, Troy Hose, Sam Wren, Luke Schneider and Brett Kuypers.

A false start on the first attempt to get the 360 Gold Cup under way had Charge getting a warning for going too early but on the second attempt Charge won the race start to lead the field away and a lead he would not relinquish in the flag to flag event. Newcombe was doing a good job holding down second place ahead of Steenholdt who quickly demoted Lumbar back to fourth place who now had Noonan on his case. It was not long before Noonan also made a pass on Lumbar the set his sights on Steenholdt.

A little further back and Hose, Wren and Micallef were having a race long battle but up front Charge had caught traffic and set about weaving his way thru the traffic going high and low on the racy track. Newcombe was still holding a strong second place but it was Noonan on the move passing his team mate Steenholdt to take third place and set sail after Newcombe.

With the leaders now into lapped traffic Charge had opened a healthy gap back to Newcombe as the laps wound down, Newcombe was also dong a good job in the traffic to keep a small gap back to Noonan. Steenholdt had not given up and was looking for a way back past Noonan but as the chequred flag was wave Charge took a very comfortable 360 Gold Cup Win once again to become the only back to back winning of the event. Newcombe finished in second place while Noonan took third place by on half a second from Steenholdt in fourth while Lumbar came home in fifth place ahead of the lapped cars of Hose, Wren, Schneider and Micallef.

The SRA also take this opportunity to thank our SRA 360 Sprintcar event partners:
Parr Motorsports, Lumbar Transport and A Plus Powder Coating.

The Sprintcar Racing Association of Victoria thank the following Eureka Garages and Sheds Sprintcar Series and season sponsors:

Eureka Garages & Sheds www.eurekagarages.com.au
Western Nissan www.westernnissan.com.au
Hoosier Tires Australia www.mdmotorsport.com.au
Camden Signage & Building Services www.camdenneon.com.au
Steelpipes Pty Ltd www.steelpipes.com.au
Lumbars Transport www.lumbars.com.au
Eliminator Race Wings www.crossmotorsport.com
Mr Electric www.mrelectric.com.au
Parr Motorsports www.parrmotorsport.com
Avalon Raceway www.avalonraceway.com.au
Corey Gibson Photography www.gibsonphotography.com.au
Sprintcarworld www.sprintcarworld.com.au
Maxam Printing www.maxamprinting.com.au
C & H Trucking
A Plus Powder Coating www.apluspowdercoating.com.au

The 360 Gold Cup Top Kane Newcombe - Jordyn Charge - Mark Noonan - photo by Cartlidge Media

The 360 Gold Cup Top Kane Newcombe - Jordyn Charge - Mark Noonan - photo by Cartlidge Media

Our Partners

Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis


Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis

Latest winners

Saturday, March 6, 2021  -Simpson Speedway

Untitled 1