Untitled Document
Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis

Corey McCullagh setting fast time in his Time Trail Group before going onto to take the feature win - Photo by Corey Gibson Photography

McCullagh Returns to the Eureka Series Winners Circle
Author : Ian Vale

On a cool night forty three drivers and there teams assembled for round eight of the 2019-2020 Eureka Garages & Sheds Sprintcar Series at Avalon Raceway Lara in front of a healthy crowds to witness some good sprintcar action that would see the current Eureka Series Champion Corey McCullagh return to the winners circle to just edge out Grant Anderson in a tight race finish.

It was tough night in the office for a two of the Series regular drivers, Charles Hunter sustained considerable damage in a roll over during hot laps to hamper his night while Terry Rankin just couldn’t take a trick in his heat races where he did not finish. Neither driver threw the towel and worked hard to eventually qualify into the B Main and gain some valuable Series points.

Four time trial groups, eight heat races and two shootout were run and won to set the Main event grids for the night but due to a curfew the A Main was reduced to a twenty five lap journey.

The round eight Eureka Garages & Sheds A Main grid was set with Jordyn Charge in P1 with Corey McCullagh along side, row two was taken by Jye Okeeffe and Bobby Daly, row three had Chris Solomon and current Series point’s leader Brett Milburn. Now an interesting point was the top four drivers in the Series had qualified into the top six stating positions! The remainder of the A main qualifiers in order were Paul Solomon, Grant Anderson, Domain Ramsay, Tate Frost, John Vogles, Brayden Parr, Jacob Smith, Grant Stansfield, Tim Hutchins, Adam King, Dennis Jones and Kurt Lutrell.

All was set for the Main event with Jordyn Charge in pole position looking for his third win in the Series. While Charge got the jump at the start that that would be short lived with McCullagh taking the lead and Daly also demoted the pole sitter to third place at the completion of lap one. The early part of the race saw a few drivers dice for positions, Anderson was quickly into fourth place and Frost moved up two spots to eight place before the caution lights were on for a spin by Luttrell.

Back under way and McCullagh was looking good with Daly holding second place from Anderson and Charge, Milburn and Paul Solomon in sixth, with not too many changes in the positions back in the pack. All the attention was now focused on Anderson who moved up track and found some good speed to make a pass on the outside of Daly for second place, while McCullagh had a good gap over Anderson it was not long before Anderson started to reel McCullagh in.

Five to go and Anderson had caught McCullagh but with the now slick track conditions and McCullagh holding a good line down low Anderson would have to try and make a pass for the race lead around the outside and try he did.

In the last few laps Anderson’s speed could get him up alongside of McCullagh but McCullagh just had the better drive of the bottom of the track to hold out Anderson for the race win by only 0.336 of a second as the chequered flag was waved. Daly finished in front of Charge who held out Milburn and Paul Solomon won his race long duel with Okeeffe to take sixth place.

All drivers completed the twenty five lap journey and on the same lap, the fishing order was Corey McCullagh, Grant Anderson, Bobby Daley, Jordyn Charge, Brett Milburn, Paul Solomon, Jye Okeeffe, Chris Solomon, Tate Frost, Domain Ramsay, Brayden Parr, Grant Stansfield, Jacob Smith, Tim Hutchins, Dennis Jones, John Vogles, Kurt Luttrell and Adam King.

Heat winners on the night were V90 Corey McCullagh, V60 Jordyn Charge, V68 Brett Milburn, V83 Chris Solomon, V48 Adam King, VA88 Grant Stansfield, V77 Brayden Parr and V73 Charles Hunter.

C Main drivers to transfer to the back of the B Main were VA12 Mark Carlin, NT26 Tony Moule, V93 Travis Miller and VA29 Terry Rankin.

Top six drivers to transfer from the B Main to the Eureka Garages & Sheds A Main were V72 Jacob Smith, VA88 Grant Stansfield, T7 Tim Hutchins, V48 Adam king, V17 Dennis Jones and T45 Kurt Luttrell.

A full list of the placing can be viewed on the SRA web site results page at www.sravic.com

The next round of Eureka Garages & Sheds Sprintcar Series is scheduled for Western Speedway Hamilton on Saturday the 15-02-2020 for round nine.

Eureka Garages and Sheds Series nightly contingency awards:

AVALON RACEWAY DRIVERS DRAW: ($50) – V60 Jordyn Charge
HOOSIER TIRE AUSTRALIA: 11th Place in the A Main at Each round.
11th V77 Braydan Parr.
D&F RACING PRODUCTS: Hard luck of the night – V28 Andrew Hughes.
C & H TRUCKING: Top Points Scorer ($100) – V90 Corey McCullagh.
STEELPIPES PTY LTD: 1st competitor not to transfer from B to A-Main ($100) –
S37 Terry Kelly.
MR ELECTRIC – Winner of the B Main ($250) – V72 Jacob Smith.
End of Series awards:
Eureka Garages & Sheds major sponsor of the Series overall prize money Poole.
C & H Trucking sponsor in the top ten award.
Award – Random draw at the Presentation Dinner.
Camden Neon Signs – sponsors of the Series Prize Poole + in the top ten award.
Hoosier Tire Australia – sponsors of the Series Prize Poole.
Western Nissan - for drivers finishing between 11th and 20th place in the Series. Random draw at the Presentation Dinner $1500 to the winner.
Lumbar Transport - End of Series most heat wins – V73 Charles Hunter
(4 wins).
Western Nissan - most cars passed in the A-Main on the night,
V37 Grant Anderson (6 cars)
(End of series award) Most cars passed overall – VA29 Terry Rankin (33 cars)
ELIMINATOR RACE WINGS – for the driver that transfers the most from the B Main to the A Main event the most. Overall, VA29 Terry Rankin, VA88 Grant Stansfield (4 Times)
(In the event of a tie the driver with the most points in the Series wins)
PARR MOTORSPORTS –Drivers Driver award as voted on by the drivers in the Series. (End of Series award)

Eureka Garages and Sheds Series – Indy Race Parts Top 10:
1st – Brett Milburn - 2710
2nd – Jordyn Charge - 2407
3rd – Bobby Daly – 2375
4th – Chris Solomon – 2249
5th – Grant Stanfield - 2117
6th – Brayden Parr – 2008
7th – Charles Hunter – 2007
8th – Terry Rankin – 2002
9th – Corey McCullagh – 1825
10th – Grant Anderson – 1805

Western Nissan
(End of Series random draw between 11th & 20th place)
11th – Jye Okeeffe - 1744
12th – Dennis Jones - 1697
13th – Mark Carlin – 1686
14th – Ryan Davis – 1470
15th – Sam Wren – 1414
16th – Paul Solomon - 1342
17th – Peter Doukas – 1337
18th – Eddie Lumbar – 1276
19th – Mike Van Bremen – 1203
20th – Stephen Spark - 1138

For a full list of all the 2019-2020 SRA of Vic Race dates go to www.sravic.com

The Sprintcar Racing Association of Victoria thank the following Eureka Garages and Sheds Sprintcar Series and season sponsors:


Eureka Garages & Sheds www.eurekagarages.com.au
Western Nissan www.westernnissan.com.au
Hoosier Tires Australia www.mdmotorsport.com.au
Camden Signage & Building Services www.camdenneon.com.au
Steelpipes Pty Ltd www.steelpipes.com.au
Lumbars Transport www.lumbars.com.au
Eliminator Race Wings www.crossmotorsport.com
Mr Electric www.mrelectric.com.au
Parr Motorsports www.parrmotorsport.com
Avalon Raceway www.avalonraceway.com.au
Corey Gibson Photography www.gibsonphotography.com.au
Sprintcarworld www.sprintcarworld.com.au
Maxam Printing www.maxamprinting.com.au
C & H Trucking

Our Partners

Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis


    No Nominations
Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis

Latest winners

Untitled 1