Untitled Document
Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis

Matthew Reed still one of the best when it comes to sprintcar racing, Yet another race win to his impressive resume - Photo By Corey Gibson Photograph

Reed Goes One better and Wins Round Seven of the C&H Series
Author : Ian Vale

The 2021-2022 SRA C&H Trucking Sprintcar Limited Series round seven was run and won yesterday evening at Simpson Speedway with Matthew Reed taking the race win on the night after being the runner up the night before at Avalon Raceway.

Round seven was the also the Grand Final of the inaugural C&H Trucking Sprintcar Limited Series, consistence performance paid off for Sam Wren with third place in last night’s event that gave him the Series Championship while two top four finished in the last two rounds awarded Andy Hibbert with second place in the Series and Matthew Reed’s win moved him to third place in the final standings.

While the car count was down due to some competitor involved in incidents the night before at Avalon Raceway not being able to make the Simpson round this did not subtract from some very entertaining racing.

Andy Hibbert was the top points scorer after taking a heat race win and a second place in his heats. The last event for the top six qualifiers before C&H Trucking A Main event was the top six shootout to decide the final top six starting positions.

Matthew Reed and Micheal Tancredi advanced from the silver shootout to the gold to challenge Andy Hibbert and Jett Bell who was having only his third night out in a Sprintcar for the front row starting position. Reed set the best time to give him the front row start of his choice, but Bell was on the pace to keep his front row start position. Hibbert would start from position three while Tancredi had to settle for fourth place, Sam Wren was next in line from position five with Travis Millar in position six.

The other qualifiers in order were Shaun Lyness, Brayden Parr, Alex Thomson, Michael Holt, Ben Micallef, Steven Loader, Shane Stevens, Steven Horton, Graham Payne, Darryl Atkinson, Jack Van Bremen, Matt Grist and Brett Smith.

Reed chose to start the C&H Trucking Main event from position two that paid off to give him good moment at the unique Simpson Speedway to take the race lead going into turn one, Tancredi wasted no time to take second place from Bell while Wren also advanced to position four at the completion of lap one.

As the drivers settled down it was not long before the leaders were into lapped traffic, Bell was putting the pressure on Tancredi and wanted second place back which did on lap seven. On the next lap it all went wrong for Tancredi when he made contact with a lapped car that came to a stop. Tancredi was sent to the rear of the lead lap cars for the restart.

Reed was in command on the race restart leading Bell who was doing a great job to keep Reed in his sights while Wren and Hibbert were racing hard for the third place. A couple of laps later the red lights were on after Parr made contact with Loader to send the V10 car into a roll and out of the race.

Underway once more and Reed maintained control of the race from Bell and the duelling Wren and Hibbert, Tancredi had worked his way back to sixth place by two thirds race distance before another caution period.

Heading into the final laps the order was now Reed from Bell, Wren, Hibbert then Tancredi who was looking to challenge for fourth place, next in line was Holt, Micallef, Stevens, Thomson and Smith now in tenth place.

While Reed was looking the goods to take the race win there was still a bit of action going on back in the field, Micallef was working over Holt to take sixth place with one to go and Smith also demoted Thomson to tenth place.

Matthew Reed put in another great performance in the Main event taking a well deserved win from the impressive young charger Jett Bell.

The Sprintcar Racing Association of Victoria along with the C&H Sprintcar Limited Series partners congratulate the Series top three, 1st place V19 Sam Wren, 2nd VA71 Andy Hibbert and 3rd V92 Matthew Reed on their efforts.

Heat winners on the night were: VA71 Andy Hibbert, V88 Jett Bell, V29 Michael Tancredi, V93 Travis Millar.

Thanks to Mike Van Bremen the first LS powered Sprintcar home received a $100 cash for their efforts that went to Sam Wren.

C& H Trucking Sprintcar Limited Series awards:
End of Series awards:
EZ Print –Drivers Driver award as voted on by the drivers in the Series. (End of Series award) TBA.
SS Auto Wholesales: Most heat wins during the Series. ($500) V29 Michael Tancredi (5 Wins) (In the event of a tie the driver with the most Series points wins)
SS Auto Wholesales: -The driver that finishes in sixth place in the A Main at each round of the Series ($100). V21 Ben Micallef
Eureka Garages & Sheds: The top points scorer at each round of the Series. ($100) VA71 Andy Hibbert

C&H Trucking Sprintcar Limited Series top twenty drivers.
1 V19 Sam Wren 1947
2 VA71 Andy Hibbert 1765
3 V92 Matthew Reed 1763
4 V29 Michael Tancredi 1730
5 V21 Ben Micallef 1253
6 VA48 Shane Stevens 1193
7 VA49 Shaun Lyness 1180
8 VA8 Steven Horton 1125
9 V88 Jett Bell 1084
10 V39 Brett Smith 1067
11 V77 Brayden Parr 1047
12 VA2 Jack Lee 1037
13 VA91 Daniel Scott 1034
14 V17 Dennis Jones 1034
15 V93 Travis Millar 1032
16 VA21 Alex Thomson 995
17 V10 Steven Loader 993
18 VA16 Jack Van Bremen 977
19 VA18 Mitchell Sutej 942
20 VA37 Darryl Atkinson 919

The Sprintcar Racing Association of Victoria thank the following Series partners:

Our Partners

Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis


    No Nominations
Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis

Latest winners

Saturday, April 23, 2022  -Avalon Raceway

Untitled 1